1. If there's anything you're not sure about, why not check out the how-to guide for forum information?

B12 deficiency and psychosis

Discussion in 'Nutrition & Diet' started by Blobbenstein, Aug 9, 2013.

Image has been removed.
URL has been removed.
Email address has been removed.
Media has been removed.
  1. Blobbenstein

Blobbenstein ...

http://jacknorrisrd.com/more-b12-psychosis/

I saw this on the VV tweets on the front page.

2. Music Platter

Music Platter Barefoot Philosopher

Shoot. I'm pretty sure that I don't get a lot of B12.

One of the comments on the page was interesting, with bold added by me:

I'm not very experienced on vitamin information. Does anyone know if this is possible?
  3. KLS52

KLS52 Ready to let go

I don't know about the psychosis part, but my co-worker/friend has permanent nerve damage (peripheral neuropathy) due to low B12. :(

I have my levels checked yearly and thankfully, they are fine. :) I do supplement.
  4. SummerRain

SummerRain I dreamed that God would be forgiving.

:( How frightening.
  5. Dedalus

Dedalus Mercurial and fleeting

What do you supplement with? My wife has become very concerned about this sort of thing.

Here are the two articles that are worrying her:

http://articles.mercola.com/sites/a...e-most-dangerous-side-effect-of-veganism.aspx

http://chriskresser.com/what-everyone-especially-vegetarians-should-know-about-b12-deficiency
  6. shyvas

shyvas Deity Forum Moderator

I'm also a bit worried and only have a yearly test for B12 levels.
  7. KLS52

KLS52 Ready to let go

I use the liquid B12. And I'm not even that regimented about it. I will take it faithfully for a few weeks then skip a few then get back on it. I do consume quite bit of nutritional yeast...probably 5 days out of seven.
  8. Blobbenstein

Blobbenstein ...

I go through phases of not taking the depressing veg1 pills, but I take a multi vit with b12 every day, so that is something, although that is only 100% rda.
  9. KLS52